Ugh, and Yet…

Sometimes life just brings us down. Insert “ugh” and “sigh.” It may be something huge like an illness or a disappointment.  Or it may be a series of little insignificant things piling on top of one another.  Either way, we feel the weight.

Lately I have been feeling the weight of my to-do list.  It is never ending and stares me in the face daily.  When I walk up the stairs and see the scuffed up, ugly pale yellow walls, I think “I can barely stand it anymore. I have to paint!” And my favorite color is yellow!  Just not this horrible shade.  But it stays on the list because the job won’t be easy, especially over the stairs.  Then I think of my final gifts to purchase for Christmas.  Normally I LOVE Christmas shopping… the thrill of finding a special gift for everyone that I love, the anticipation of when they are opened, and having them beautifully wrapped under the tree.  But not this year, with all of the uncertainty with work and therefore income, every dime spent feels heavy to my soul.  Then I look at the everyday stuff like laundry, dishes, meals, toys everywhere and then glance at Asher (my three year old) and think, why am I doing all of these chores and not enjoying the one-on-one time that I have with him.  It will be gone come next school year. Pressure mounting, the list unending, my attention pulled back and forth.

Yet, God grabs my attention and puts it all back into focus.  Don’t you love when you are reading the Bible and you come across the word “yet.”  Something exciting always comes after it! Today I was at a Bible study at church and we were wrapping up Beth Moore’s study, Children of the Day.  She ends it with a simple but powerful message and I felt a sense of relief from the weight of my list.

“For not all have faith. But the Lord is faithful.” 2 Thessalonians 3:2b-3a

Wow.  I followed instruction and wrote on my left hand “For not all have faith.”  Then on the other hand, “But the Lord is faithful.”  Sometimes I’m the one without faith.  Sometimes it’s those we encounter at work, school, the neighborhood, or the grocery store.  But no matter what is weighing on us, no matter what circumstance we are facing or outside force that is trying to bring us down, the LORD IS FAITHFUL.

I need this reminder and even had the slight consideration to get a tattoo so I won’t forget.  I am thankful for His faithfulness to us and to the promises He gives us.  Even when I am weighed down by my endless responsibilities, I surrender them to God and He gives me a new perspective on my priorities.  Thank you Lord that you are faithful.

IMG_2669

Leave a Reply

