37 Weeks = Full Term!

First of all… THANK YOU JESUS!  If it wasn’t for your grace and provision, I wouldn’t even be here today.

Today is another milestone in this pregnancy.  I have officially made it to full term.  If Baby is born today, he won’t be considered premature.  Most likely we won’t see the inside of a NICU and we’ll have a plump baby boy.  I really can’t wait to meet him and would be thrilled if today was the day.  But it looks like I will have to have patience and wait a little while longer.

Two days ago, I had my first appointment where they checked my cervix and I haven’t started dilating.  Baby is head down but he hasn’t dropped yet.  The doctor and I discussed a plan of action for the next few weeks.  Due to my previous c-section, they can not induce me for labor as there is a higher risk of uterine rupture.  But I am still a good candidate for a VBAC, so if I go into labor naturally we will move forward in that direction.  If I don’t go into labor, we are going to schedule a c-section around the time of my due date.  Carrying past my due date has its own risks of allowing more time for preeclampsia, HELLPs, or blood clots to develop.  I am happy with this plan… having a scheduled c-section but also allowing nature to take its course.  We’ll just have to wait and see what happens.

The other topic at my appointment was MTHFR.  It seems as though it was the reason I developed HELLP Syndrome.  I have had this all of my life and probably wouldn’t have ever found out if I hadn’t developed HELLPs in my first pregnancy.  It seems as though my MTHFR is a lesser version, where there is one copy of a gene which requires me to take a baby aspirin and extra folic acid.  If I had the double copy, then I’d have to have daily shots to keep myself from developing blood clots.  Extremely thrilled that I don’t have to do the shots!  For women out there who have had HELLPs, make sure your doctors do a full blood workup and look for genetic disorders like MTHFR.  I do not know why this was not caught at the beginning of this pregnancy (or even right after having had HELLPs), but I trust my life in God’s ultimate care.  I haven’t had in blood clotting issues so far and I know that God is the one overseeing the baby’s development.

“Just as you cannot understand the path of the wind or the mystery of a tiny baby growing in its mother’s womb, so you cannot understand the activity of God, who does all things.”  Ecclesiastes 11:5  I may not understand but I do trust that God is at work to mold me into the woman I was always meant to be.  I am always thankful for the lessons I learn, the experiences I have, and the gifts I am given.  Thank you Jesus for bringing us to full term.  Thank you for Baby, my hope and my joy.  Thank you for Levi, my strong survivor.  Thank you for Matt, my self-sacrificing husband.  And thank you for life, now and into eternity with you.

3 thoughts on “37 Weeks = Full Term!

  1. Full term!!! I am so happy for you and your family. My name is Ines Gramajo and six years ago I had HELLP too. Even though my daughter Dharma and I made a full recovery, my husband and I decided not to have any more children, it was too risky. Last November I found out I was pregnant. It wasn’t planed. We were in shock and so scared that we didn´t share the news with anyone until the second trimester. During that time I was crazy looking for information about successful pregnancies after HELLP and I found your blog. Anyway, just wanted to tell you that I had a wonderful second pregnancy, and on July 29, at 8:24 am my second daughter Nina was born HELLP free. YES, it is possible. I had my scheduled c-section at 39 weeks, my husband was by my side in the OR, he was able to cut the cord and I could hold my full term and healthy baby right after the delivery. We were blessed with a second chance to enjoy this wonderful experience.

    I wish you and your family the best and a HELLP free delivery 🙂

    • Ines, I am so HAPPY for you! What a great outcome and I’m sure worth the stress of a high risk, surprise pregnancy. It looks like I too am on the right path to have a HELLP free pregnancy with a scheduled c-section. Only 10 more days until I get to meet my second son and I can’t wait. It will also be nice to be alert for his birth and to have my husband there with me. Thank you for the encouragement and I love hearing other success stories!! Many blessings on your family!

Leave a Reply

