Be Strong and Courageous

“Have I not commanded you?  Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”  Joshua 1:9

This verse was a part of last night’s devotional that my husband and I do together, and exactly what I needed to be reminded of.  Tuesday night I had major swelling in my feet and ankles with a bit in my legs.  Of course this freaked me out!  Out came the Mommy Sox, socks designed to reduce or prevent swelling.  I feel like a soccer player or a school girl wearing them, as they come up to my knees, but I love them!  Fortunately my blood pressure was at its normal level that evening or I would have had Matt carting Levi off to his grandparents and me down to L&D triage.  By the next morning, my feet were back to normal size.  What a relief… normal pregnancy swelling!  I wore the Mommy Sox all day, drank a lot of water, and rested with my feet up as much as possible.  All resulting in no swelling!  Even though I recognize that this is completely normal, fear of HELLPs had crept up in me and stayed there. 

“Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid, do not be discouraged”  After last week’s diagnosis of MTHFR, being almost 36 weeks and completely uncomfortable, and now the swelling, I am feeling anxious and ready for Baby’s arrival.  Reading Joshua 1:9, a verse that I memorized as a child and flooded back to my memory upon hearing the reference, lifted my spirits and reminded me to trust. “The LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”  Trust in God’s presence, in His guidance, and in the intuition He has given me.  I am not alone in this pregnancy.  36 weeks is a huge accomplishment and I know that God will see us through to full term.  1 week to go, 4 weeks until my due date and once again experiencing the joy and excitement of this pregnancy!

One thought on “Be Strong and Courageous

Leave a Reply

