Reflections at 25 Weeks

Right now I am visiting my husband for the weekend!!  It has been 4 weeks since we’ve seen each other and it will be another 4 weeks until our closing.  Our closing date has been once again pushed back to the original date of June 21st but God has used this to teach me to trust Him and to test me in my faith.  Though I was initially disappointed, I have accepted our move date and look forward to the time I have with friends and family before Levi and I move.  But God has blessed me with the opportunity to visit the area, tour our future house, and spend a long weekend with the man that I love without the toddler in tow!

Though I am enjoying my weekend, Matt is still working while I’m here. This has given me some time to reflect on my current state of health and compare it to the same time frame in my first pregnancy.  As I was gathering my medical records to send to a new clinic, I took the time to read over them and try to make sense of the reports.  I noticed that at my 23 week appointment (pregnant with Levi) my blood pressure was 128/86.  This shocked me as I am currently averaging 100/60.  In sharing this with my parents, my dad mentioned that he has always had low blood pressure and for him that number would be high.  At my last doctor’s appointment, I had mentioned my concern to the “transition” doctor and her straight up answer was 140/90 is high and not to worry about anything lower than this.  Now I’m not in the medical field, but my numbers at 23 weeks (which stayed at that level up until I hit 140/90 at 31 weeks) should have been a red flag that something was happening.  The swelling started at 24 weeks and looking back at pictures I can see that it was even in my face at that time.  This entire last week I’ve been watching my feet.  Even as I sit and write this, I have slipped off my shoes to exam what I feel is tightness in my feet.  But in reality I am already ahead of the game… no swelling, great BP numbers.  I’m sharing this just because I need to express my disappointment that my symptoms leading to preeclampsia were passed off as normal.  I also share this to remind myself that I have to be proactive in my own care because I am the one who will notice any first signs of preeclampsia or HELLPS.  2 Timothy 1:7 comes to mind: “For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.”  I must not be timid.  I must stand up for the proper care of myself and my child, especially if my spirit is uneasy. 

Even with these reflections, I am enjoying my marriage, my new hometown, and my healthy pregnancy.  I’m thankful that HELLPS was caught last time and knowing that if it comes again, it will be noticed much sooner.  I have been accepted as a high risk, late-in-the-pregnancy, new patient at a clinic here and look forward to my first appointment once I move.  Life is good, God is good, and pray that I stop analyzing my feet and just enjoy each moment in carrying this precious baby.

Leave a Reply

