16 Week Check-up

The last day of week 14, I felt the baby move for the first time.  It was the light fluttering feeling.  A pitter patter of our Honey Bee wiggling around in there.  Since then I haven’t felt a thing.  Disappointed and a feeling of worry creaping up as to whether or not Baby was ok.  Last week, I had a 24 hour flu bug which left me feeling dehydrated and down 2 pounds according to our scale at home.  Also adding to the concern for Baby.  So as this week’s appointment approached, I was ready to go!

Monday I had my blood drawn at the perinatologist’s office for the second blood work for the screening tests.  Yesterday was my 24 hour urine collection… gross but no big deal.  Today was the doctor’s appointment!  It was very routine.  Dropped off my bucket at the lab.  They sent me for more blood work to go along with the urine test.  My weight was the same as last month’s appointment and blood pressure was in normal range.  When I met with the doctor I mentioned my readiness to hear the heartbeat and she didn’t waste any time.  Immediately there was the sound… strong and steady!  Since I didn’t have any concerns to discuss with her, we quickly chatted about what is next on my appointment schedule and I was on my way. 

I was relieved to know that the baby is doing well and joy was added when I received a call from the perinatologists office on the way home.  The screening tests came back normal.  Baby is fine!  An added bonus today was that Levi has been an angel.  So good at the doctors, ate his entire lunch, and in now napping beautifully. 

Next on the baby schedule is our BABYMOON!  Followed by the BIG ultrasound (counting down 3 weeks 5 days), where we should find out if it is a boy or a girl.  And by request, I leave you with my updated belly picture at 16 weeks.

3 thoughts on “16 Week Check-up

  1. Lyndsey says:

    You look so cute (and tiny) – thanks for posting the picture! Glad everything is going well, and that is so exciting to have felt baby move! It’s probably good we don’t know if it’s a boy or girl yet since I gave up personal shopping for Lent! 🙂 Have fun on your babymoon!!!

Leave a Reply

