1st Appointment

Yesterday was my first doctor’s appointment.  After knowing that not everything goes as planned in pregnancy, Matt and I had been feeling cautiously optimistic.  But after this appointment, we are feeling very happy and hopeful.  Of course the best part of the appointment was the ultrasound.  Seeing the baby for the first time was amazing!  I am only 6 weeks along, but we could see a small outline of the baby and the flicker of the heartbeat.  God is so good!

My due date is September 3, 2011 (Daddy’s birthday)!  My doctor’s office though doesn’t let their patients go beyond 39 weeks.  I’m hoping to be one who even gets to 39 weeks, so we are anticipating an August baby. 

I am feeling very comfortable with the care we will be receiving.  It will definitely be a bit more challenging, but if I develop preeclampsia they will know it right away.  Here’s what I expect the next 8 months will hold:

  • Many, MANY appointments – my next one is scheduled in 2 weeks and I am waiting for the perinatologist’s office to give me a call to schedule my first appointment with her.
  • Extra Ultrasounds – which I will love! 
  • Monitoring my blood pressure daily at home – we just bought the monitor and I am to start it in 2 weeks.
  • 24 hour urine tests

Other than close monitoring, there is nothing that can be done to prevent preeclampsia and HELLPS from reoccurring.  Fortunately I know that God is watching over us and my awareness of the condition this time around will make a significant difference in it being detected early.  Next appointment, January 24th!

“You made all the delicate inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.  Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!  Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it.  You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.  You saw me before I was born.  Every day of my life was recorded in your book.  Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.”  Psalm 139:13-16

3 thoughts on “1st Appointment

  1. Lyndsey Stulp says:

    Congrats again, Amanda! Your little bean is so cute! I also love that you will get lots of ultrasounds so I can keep seeing pictures of that little one! I hope you are getting plenty of rest and not feeling too nauseated!!!

  2. Rebekah Paz says:

    Thank you for sharing your story, I look forward to seeing your progress and God’s faithfulness through your journey with #2. I know it is scary, my son was born at 35 weeks and was 3 lbs 13 ounces, I was terrified but now he is a thriving 2 year old. There is hope!

Leave a Reply

